Haiku For You: a day in the life of a poet

Poems for everyday people, every day…

February 17, 2010 February 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — eclecticjules @ 12:51 am

majestic hawks glide                                                  watching the wind trail

effortlessly above me                                                 fingertips ‘cross the water

wearing brown wingtips                                              Mother Nature’s braille

 

One Response to “February 17, 2010”

  1. Although neither of these moments were captured digitally, they are both seared into my memory; brain pictures if you will. The hawks I first watched while sitting in my car in a field off 168 in Currituck, NC. I had been eying the abandoned farmhouse for months and today it was accessible. While the farmhouse was a letdown, the hawks were mesmerizing as I gazed upward, watching them, silhouetted against the crisp blue sky dotted with puffy white clouds. I got some decent shots of the house, but the fowl eluded me as I chose to simply watch. (And my zoom’s just not powerful enough….yet) However, the haiku was written specifically for the hawk I saw as headed home and was preparing to make the left turn onto my street, that truly inspired me. He was gliding low, just below tree-top level, and as he banked right to soar over the trees, I could see his individual wing feathers splayed, and two distinct ones on the tip of wing, longer than the rest, bent at a curious angle, surely an aerodynamic design! After returning safely home, I sat down at the balcony railing and soaked in the early afternoon sunlight. It was unseasonably warm, in the 50s, and the slightest breeze tickled the air. As I rested my chin on my crossed arms, gazing out at the silky sound, the occasional breeze ruffled the surface of the water spreading intricate ripples about. Again I was inspired, and though some days take effort to create but one, today two fell right out of my head, true haiku.


Leave a Reply

